Presidential Message

Greetings are heartily extended to the AAMP membership to this inaugural edition of our newsletter. I wish to applaud the efforts of Dr. Alvin Wee, Chairperson of the Publications and Nomenclature Committee, for initiating this effort to provide yet another interface for the organization to keep the membership in the loop of happenings related to AAMP activities. I am able to report to you that the committees of the organization are all working hard to address the initiatives and charges that I requested they pursue during the course of this year.



Additionally, I am making a concerted effort to address at the national level concerns related to the needs of this organization to assure its continuity in the years to come. Letters have been sent to the Presidents of the ADA and AMA. Discussions

with the hierarchy of the National Institutes of Health have and are taking place to bring to light some of the difficulties with which Maxillofacial Prosthodontists are confronted in supporting the current treatment needs of patients referred for oral rehabilitation. Further, the need to address recruitment and to provide the needed support for individuals seeking training in Maxillofacial Prosthodontics are being pursed as part of this initiative.

I hope that you have registered or are about to register for our 55th Annual Meeting being held at the Westin Kierland Resort and Spa in Scottsdale, Arizona, October 27-30, 2007. In my estimation this year's meeting with be well worth attending, as we have an ambitious scientific program, a memorial to honor Past Presidents Dr. Tom Curtis and Dr. Charles Swoope, as well as awards and social events that are all being held at a very elegant venue.

It is my hope that you are all enjoying a pleasant summer. I very much look forward to visiting with you in Scottsdale!

Warm regards,

Jeff Rubenstein

AAMP Fellowship

Please congratulate the following individuals that have been accepted into the Academy's fellowship categories:

Full Fellow:Dr. Todd Pickle Associate Fellows:

Drs. Howard Abrahams, Majd Al Mardini, Marvin Alameda and Michael Forde

This brings our total AAMP membership as of February 2007 to 259 (72 Life Fellows, 2 Life Affiliate Fellows, 115 Fellows, 53 Associate Fellows, 2 Allied Technicians and 15 Affiliates). Please encourage individuals interested in this area of clinical science to participate in the AAMP.

August 25, 2007 1 of 3

Upcoming Annual Meetings



The 55th American Academy of Maxillofacial Prosthetics Annual Meeting will be held from October 27-30, 2007, in Scottsdale, Arizona. This will be an exciting meeting with clinical updates on cleft lip & palate, maxillofacial treatment, insurance, biomaterials, 3D imaging and rapid prototyping. Check out the conference site: www.res-inc.com/AAPM2007.htm. The conference site will be at the luxurious Westin Kierland Resort and Spa. Register and book your hotel room now!

Mark Your Calendars

Next year's meeting will be held at the Nashville Gaylord Opryland Resort in Tennessee, which will also be the same location as the annual meeting of the American College of Prosthodontists.

Research Awards

Congratulations to the following individuals who are winners of the Research Poster Competition Awards at the 2006 Hawaii AAMP / ISMR Meeting. We look forward to reading their research in the *Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry*.

1st place: Loewen, IJ COMPRU Misericordia Community Hospital Edmonton, Alberta, Canada Sensory Outcomes, Function and Quality of Life following Tongue Reconstruction

3rd place: Forde, M Mayo Clinic, Department of Dental Specialty Rochester, MN, USA Proteomic Analysis of Oral Fluids 2nd place: Ochiai, KT UCLA School of Dentistry Los Angeles, CA, USA Influence of Craniofacial Form on Masticatory Performance with Implant-Assisted Overdentures

4th place: Hirai, H
The First Dept of Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry
Aichi-Gakuin University, Japan
Development of a Light-Weight Facial Impression
Technique

Congratulations

Congratulations to our AAMP Vice-President Elect, Dr. Steve Eckert (Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN) who was elected as a recent Board Examiner of the American Board of Prosthodontics. He joins four other AAMP fellows on the Board (Drs. Rhonda Jacob, Stephen Parel, Thomas Taylor and Jonathan Wiens).

Condolences

It is with sadness that the Academy has learned of the passing of five of the Academy's Life Fellows:

Dr. Roy Bodine
Dr. Thomas Cowper
Dr. Thomas Curtis
Dr. Charles Swoope
Dr. Kent Mosely

August 25, 2007 2 of 3

Officer and Directors

President: Dr. Jeffrey E. Rubenstein *University of Washington*

President Elect: Dr. Terry M. Kelly

H. Lee Moffit Cancer Center

Vice-President: Dr. Glenn E. Turner *University of Florida, College of Dentistry*

Vice-President Elect: Dr. Steven E. Eckert *Mayo Clinic, Division of Prosthodontics*

Exe Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Steven P. Haug *Indiana School of Dentistry*

Immediate Past President: Dr. Rhonda F. Jacob *M D Anderson Cancer Center*

Recording Secretary: Dr. Mark Chambers MD Anderson Cancer Center

Board Directors

2007

Dr. Craig Van Dongen - *Providence, RI* Dr. Robert M. Taft - *Bethesda, MD* Dr. Christina A. Gitto - *Cleveland, OH*

Dr. Joseph Toljanic - Chicago, IL

2008

Dr. Michael R. Arcuri - *Cedar Falls, IA*Dr. Larry Brecht - *New York*, *NY*Dr. Todd W. Lund - *Minneapolis, MN*

Dr. Thomas J. Salinas - Rochester, MN

2009

Dr. Donna Hecker - *Eden Prairie, MN*Dr. Kenneth Kent - *Philadelphia, PA*Dr. David J. Reisberg - *Chicago, IL*Dr. John F. Wolfaardt - *Alberta, Canada*

Committee Chairs

ABP & Exam Nominating: Dr. Lawrence Brecht

Auditing: Dr. Mark S. Chambers

Awards: Dr. David J. Reisberg Bylaws: Dr. Thomas J. Salinas Ectodermal Dysplasia: Dr. Thomas J. Vergo, Jr.

Education: Dr. Robert M. Taft

Educational Standards: Dr. Steven E. Eckert

Ethics and Medico-legal: Dr. Christina A. Gitto

Federal Services: Dr. Gerald T. Grant

Fellowship: Dr. Donna M. Hecker

Historical and Archives: Dr. Eugene Choy

Insurance & Oral Health: Dr. Craig Van Dongen

International Relations Dr. Stephan Studer

Internet/Homepage: Dr. Sam R. Zwetchkenbaum

Liaison to ISMR: Dr. Arun B. Sharma

Local Arrangements: Dr. Michael L. Bleeker

Materials and Devices: Dr. Gerald T. Grant

Memorial: Dr. Thomas J. Vergo

Nominating: Dr. Rhonda F. Jacob

Parameters of Care: Dr. Kevin S. Oakes

Past-Presidents: Dr. Thomas J. Vergo

Patient Website: Dr. Betsy K. Davis

2007 Program: Dr. Glenn E. Turner

Public & PR: Dr. Mark S. Chambers

Publications & Nomenclature: Dr. Alvin G. Wee

Quality of Life: Dr. Steven E. Eckert

Reorganization & Streamlining: Dr. Kenneth Kent

Research: Dr. Joseph M. Huryn

Student Membership: Dr. Joseph A. Toljanic

Time and Place: Dr. Steven P. Haug

Please send any recommendations, comments or suggestions to the Editor of this newsletter:

Dr. Alvin G. Wee Associate Professor and Director Division of Oral Facial Prosthetics/Dental Oncology UNMC Department of Otolaryngology 981225 Nebraska Medical Center Omaha, NE 68198-1225 Email: awee@unmc.edu

August 25, 2007 3 of 3